Fastest/Slowest AJC Derby
The fastest metric AJC Derby was run by Octagonal in 2:28.4 minutes in 1996 and the slowest by Bonecrusher in 1986 in 2:35.6 minutes.

Fastest/Slowest Melbourne Cup
The fastest Melbourne Cup was run in 1990 by Kingston Rule in 3:16.3 minutes. Archer, the winner of the first and second Melbourne Cup ran the slowest time in 1861 with 3:52 minutes.

First Inductee to Hall of Fame
Arthur ‘Scobie’ Breasley was the very first inductee to the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

First Millionaire
Kingston Town was the first Australian racehorse to win $1 million in prize-money.

Five Race Wins in Four Days
Carbine won five races in four days during the Sydney Autumn Carnival in 1890, including the Sydney Cup on the second day and the All-Aged Stakes and the Cumberland Stakes on the third day.

Greatest Weight in Melbourne Cup
Carbine holds the record for the most amount of weight carried to victory in the Melbourne Cup. In 1890 he was ridden by Bob Ramage carrying 10 stone 5 pounds. Carbine was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2001.

Greatest Winning Margin in AJC Derby
The greatest winning margin was in 1886 when Trident scored by 10 lengths.

Greatest Winning Margin in Melbourne Cup
The greatest winning margin was 8 lengths by Archer in 1862 and Rain Lover in 1968.

Group 1 Race Winners
Jockeys George Moore and Roy Higgins have ridden more than 100 Group 1 winners, George Moore 119, Roy Higgins 108.

Highest Winning Margins
Tulloch and Phar Lap won major races by a margin of 20 lengths. Phar Lap the 1929 VRC King’s Plate and Tulloch the 1958 AJC St Leger.

Most Melbourne Cup Victories
Trainer Bart Cummings holds the record for the most wins in the Melbourne Cup with 11 victories. He has quinellaed the event five times.

Most Training Wins in a Day
Trainer Colin Hayes holds the record for training 10 winners in a day. On 23 January 1982 he had 7 wins at Victoria Park and 3 wins at Caulfield.

Most Trainer Premierships
Tommy Smith holds the record of winning the New South Wales Trainer's Premiership 34 times with 33 of those in a row. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2001.

Winning Streak
In 1946 Bernborough won 7 successive Group 1 races, the VATC Futurity Stakes, VRC Newmarket Handicap, STC Rawson Stakes, AJC Chipping Norton Stakes, AJC All-Aged Stakes, Doomben 10,000 and Doomben Cup.